top of page
Writer's pictureTraci Kanaan

How To Save A Life in 10 Minutes with Hypnosis and Ramen Noodles

Updated: Dec 14, 2023


Doug and I were looking forward to seeing our friend Mark yesterday. I met Mark several years ago at a Law Of Attraction Meet Up Group, and just liked his energy. We gave him a tour of the place and wanted to show him one of the condos we bought a few months ago. When we got to the top of the steps, our elderly neighbor “J” was slumped over the table on his porch, and a young lady named “K”, the neighbor on the other side of his condo, was trying to get him to respond but a little unsure of what to do next.


I knew he had been taken to the hospital a few days prior via ambulance. “J” wasn’t able to move or sit up. He looked pale. His skin was clammy. The neighbor knew he was diabetic. I asked him a few questions about his situation. He gave some answers that I found to be “less than satisfactory” so I called 911.


After answering the dispatcher’s questions, I turned my focus to “J” and remembered to say something to him I had learned from one of my many hypnosis classes: “I need you to stay with me. Help is on the way. I want you to think about something that makes you happy.” I put my hand on his arm to ground us both. The rest of the conversation went something like this:


Me: What makes you happy?


Neighbor: Lunch.


Me: What do you enjoy eating for lunch?


Neighbor: Ramen Noodles.


Me: What’s your favorite flavor?


Neighbor: I like all of them.


Me: I’m a Shrimp and Chicken girl myself. Do you like Shrimp and Chicken?


Neighbor: Yes.


Me: How do you make your Ramen Noodles.


Neighbor: I like to put an egg in there and cook it up.


Me: Never thought about that. Sounds good! You’re doing great. You just keep thinking about that yummy meal and staying with me.


“K” went into his condo to gather his medications, cell phone, charger, and wallet.


The paramedics arrived within 9 minutes of the start of the phone call, and began their questions. His problem wasn’t low blood sugar…he was on the verge of a seizure. While they were carrying him down the steps, he began “checking out.” They got him into the ambulance, and they left the property without lights and sirens. We had either gotten there just in time to save his life, or we had gotten there just in time to help him transition from this world to the next. I prepared myself for the worst.


I got a text from “K” a few hours later. “J” was looking for a ride home from the hospital. I don’t know how he pulled through, but he lived, and was feisty enough to want to go home, against doctor’s ordered, of course. “J” is not a healthy person, while I hoped I was able to buy him some time, there’s a chance I prolonged his misery. I remember that lesson all to well from taking care of my mother. While I don’t know the outcome of this particular story as it just happened yesterday, I do know this:


The unconscious mind is at work all the time. Calm, positive words will do more for the unconscious mind than panicky, negative words.

What would you rather hear when you're at your worst?


“I need you to stay with me.”

“Help is on the way.”

“I want you to think about something that makes you happy.”


or


“You don’t look so good.”

“Can you tell me where it hurts?”

“We’re losing him/her!”


Asking the victim questions about what makes them happy and what do they like doing helps focus their mind on “what they have to live for” instead of “what is jeopardizing their health right now.”


After the episode was over, Mark reminded me of The Law of Attraction, and how it was in full force that day. He then went through every little thing that happened to him and us that day, bringing us all to that moment to help “J.”


Words matter. Choose good ones. We are all hypnotists whether we know it or not, and whether we like it or not.


While I’m at it, please review these articles on keeping medical information available for first responders. Medical emergencies can happen at any time, no matter how young you are. The less a first responder has to guess about your health, the better off you are.




536 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page