top of page
Writer's pictureTraci Kanaan

The Hills are Alive...with The Pound of Music...

Updated: Dec 14, 2023


I think everybody has THAT song, that when they hear it they are magically trance-ported to another world. I know whenever I hear Anyway You Want It by Journey…I’m back in junior high (young people: it’s what we had before Middle School). Whenever I hear Bat Out of Hell by Meatloaf, I’m cruising the southwest side of Cleveland, Ohio with my bestie Todd Stuart in my 1984 Chevy Cavalier drinking a nasty beer called Little Kings (young people: do not drink Little Kings and drive). Whenever I hear KC and The Sunshine Band, I can’t help but think of thinking how cute KC was, performing on Dick Clark’s Rockin’ New Year’s Eve with those hot bell bottom pants and platform (boogie) shoes.


Music is transformational, powerful, and a tremendous source of positive anchoring! So why not embrace this happy energy from music and transform those moments of “down” with moments of “sound”?


I made myself a playlist on my iPhone called “Pick Me Up.” It’s a list of songs that whenever I hear them, I am transported to a happy place. If I’m feeling down, need to clean the house, need to run an errand I’m not thrilled about, or just a little boost in the middle of my day…I click on that Pick Me Up Playlist, hit “shuffle” and allow technology to do it’s magic and make my day.


Here’s a list of songs on my playlist:


The Best Is Yet To Come - Tony Bennett

Come and Get Your Love - Redbone (Thanks Guardians of the Galaxy!)

The Best of What’s Around - Dave Matthews Band

Jump Around - House of Pain

The Party’s Over - Journey

The Greatest Show - The Greatest Showman (Hugh Jackman)

Danza Kuduro (feat. Lucenzo) - Don Omar

We Found Love (feat. Calvin Harris) - Rihanna

Mr. Ghost Goes to Town - The John Buzon Trio (RETRO!)

Atomic Dog - George Clinton

Do Ya - Electric Light Orchestra

Blurred Lines - Robin Thicke

Apollo 9 - Adam Ant

Intergalactic - Beastie Boys

The Git Up - Blanco Brown

Tenth Avenue Freeze Out - Bruce Springsteen

Touch and Go - The Cars

What Is Love - Haddaway

Do You Recall - Journey

Crazy Train - Ozzy Osbourne

and of course - what “Pick Me Up” playlist would be complete without…


Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey?


I challenge you to develop your own "Pick Me Up" playlist, and add every song that instantly takes you to a happier time in your life.


Let me know what some of your favorite“Pick Me Up” songs are so I can add to my playlist.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page