top of page
Writer's picturecocoy montenegro

The Power of “Unplugging”


My last real vacation was in October of 2019. A real break, as in I didn’t have to perform, see clients, take classes, teach classes, or be accountable to anyone but myself. Every trip I’ve been on in the last four years has been work-related. I may have done lots of fun things on those trips to break up the monotony of work, but it was never a clean break from work. Even on my “excursions,” I answered phone calls, met with staff, took appointments, and did what I needed to keep my business going. It’s one of the “perks” of being self-employed.


I’ve decided to take a short break from the mental treadmill and go on a honeymoon with the awesome guy I married a few months ago. We decided that we were going on a cruise. While we usually prefer traveling to more exotic locations like England or Egypt, we chose a cruise out of Tampa, which would be the least taxing, so it is Mexico and The Caribbean!


When we booked our excursions, we took care that none involved excessive walking, thrill-seeking, or anything strenuous. One of our excursions involves sitting under an oceanfront tiki hut and watching the waves crash on the beach while sipping margaritas and nibbling on hors d’oeuvres. One of our excursions involves an ancient healing spa ritual.


I will do the unthinkable and turn off my phone for a week. I will bring my computer, but not to answer emails! I’m getting it because I love writing and journaling.


For one week, I will not check my social media, worry about my clients, fret over issues with my condo association, or give one f*ck about corrupt politicians destroying our country with their idiocy. Instead, this week, I will embrace connecting with my husband and reconnecting with myself.


The thought of turning off my phone and unplugging myself from the world for one week is terrifying. What if someone near and dear to me needs my help? What if one of my clients has an emergency? What if I have an easy answer to a question, but no one can reach me by phone? What if something happens to my home or my pets while I’m gone?


It will have to wait for me to return. Everything was fine when I got home every other time I went on vacation. Even the last time I went to Las Vegas (for work), a hurricane barreled down on Florida. When I got home, everything was okay.


This vacation will be different:

  1. I’m going to take the advice I give my clients.

  2. I will begin my trip wrapping up everyone and everything that means something to me in an imaginary “love bubble.” This “love bubble” will contain everything my friends and family need to survive one week without me.

  3. This “love bubble” will include my trust and faith in (insert God, Jesus, Jehovah, Yahweh, Source, Creator, Angels, The Universe, Spirit Guide, or another choice here.) to take care of whatever may arise in my absence.

  4. I will make a “love bubble” for myself to protect myself from worries and concerns, so I can take the time to refresh, renew, and rejuvenate my spirit.

  5. I will live in the moment and enjoy myself!


Namaste, and be good while I’m gone, ya’ll. See you after June 12th!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page